Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that protecting the environment is beyond the power of individual citizens, and that cooperations along with governments alone are able to take effective action. On this issue, I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that individual actions can together contribute to positive environmental change, also persuading governments and companies to protect the natural world. First of all, individuals can create positive environmental change by working together as a community. This is because the effects of many small actions quickly add up to cause an impact on the surroundings. For instance, if each person in a large city decides to walk or take a bus instead of driving once a week, the reduction in air pollution would be huge. While it is true that one person acting alone cannot make much difference, many individuals taking the same action can have a dramatic effect. secondly, the actions of individuals can also influence governments and cooperations, due to the fact that people have power as both citizens and consumers. As proof, there can be a social media campaign against pollutions such as air and water pollution, which affects the health of the society. Therefore, the human rights of the population would be placed into consideration. The authority could heed to the lamentations of the population. In conclusion, some persons think that environmental protection cannot be done by individuals alone, rather by government agencies and cooperatives. Conversely, I strongly disagree with this idea, because individuals form the basic unit of every society and their deeds can bring about positive environmental changes. Additionally, folks can as well influence government and cooperative decisions along with policies to protect the global world.