The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree ?

In this technological world, E-Commerce has taken the world by storm. Some people opine that this issue could lead to millions of local shops in markets shutting their operations due to lack of demand. I agree with the statement and will attempt to justify this concern with an apt example. Nowadays, people are shifting to online E-commerce websites for essential as well as non-essential shopping. For Instance, while earlier, citizens would visit markets to buy daily groceries, fresh ingredients are delivered through professional services at their door-step. This cause has many reasons. Nevertheless, online shopping is cheaper than buying locally as these companies do not have to invest in large infrastructures and pay an exorbitant amount of rent. Moreover, with the introduction of same-day delivery, it has become convenient and time-saving for the citizens who require items instantly. Also, there are various deals through shopping online which encourage consumers to buy more than they require. Furthermore, The growth of online shipping websites has had a detrimental impact on the local markets. To start with, a lot of shop-owners are incurring problems selling the unsold inventory, therefore, finding it hard to shell out a huge amount of rent for their shops. It has also led to a decline of local craftmanship due to negligible demand for high-priced quality products, which have been substituted by low-quality and low-priced products with additional online discounts. To conclude, I accord with the theory of the diminishing effect of local shops and markets due to the elevating demand for E-Commerce goods and services which has resulted in a disbalance of income between the wealthy owners of websites and the poor owners of local shops, markets and shopping complexes.