Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Every day, food items such as vegetables, fruits, rice, and other items are being shipped from certain villages to distant places such as metro cities and towns for the consumption of citizens residing there. A few people cite that it would be economically and environmentally beneficial if residents of metro cities and towns consume crops and fruits that are cultivated locally rather than transporting those items from great distances. To begin with, in certain places which has dry weather conditions such as Dubai or California, it is next to impossible to grow certain fruits and vegetables and hence in order to meet the demands of the people, foodstuff items are moved from other parts of the country to such cities. This practice seems to be advantageous, as this addresses the essential needs of the people residing in such places and thereby keeping the citizens healthy. Moreover, impoverished nations such as Bangladesh, which has a huge scarcity of food items such as Milk and seafood, import them from countries like Denmark, which is a pioneer in diary and seafood items, to address the vital demands of the public. On the contrary, environmental activists cite that carrying foodstuffs to longer places would immensely harm the environment, as trucks and container ships emit gases that could cause the greenhouse effect. These reformers stress the fact that rather than importing food items from a remote place, cities and developed towns could create the appropriate atmosphere to cultivate crops or improvise the nearby markets or milk farms to meet the requirements of local people. This way people in metropolises would no longer have to wait until the food truck or container ship arrives and instead, the same can be purchased from local markets. In countries such as Sweden, people consume foods that are locally available or grown in their surroundings, which can save the environment as well as improve the livelihood of local farmers. Thus, this is clearly beneficial to a large extent. To conclude, although the merits of importing food items from longer distances to address the demands consumers cease to exist, the demerits of this practice which causes profoundly serious implications to the atmosphere immensely overweighs the meagre benefits. Hence shipping food items from faraway places is enormously detrimental to the environment and is undoubtedly disadvantageous.