Getting promotions are one of the biggest motivations for hard work in modern work place. Why are people driven to receive promotions? What other factors motivate them for hard work?

At the modern work place climbing the ladder of hierarchy is a huge factor which drives employees. Many people are motivated for various reasons to achieve promotions but I think there are many other factors also that make them work hard for the company. This essay will vindicate this view with valid reasons. Promotions have always been a primary objective for workers at all levels. It serves many purposes in one’s life. Firstly, the status it gives to a person is enormous. Secondly, the monetary benefit it provides to those who lead a luxurious life is something which cannot be ignored. For instance, there are reports that the financial commitment is rising every year so alarmingly that an yearly increment only would never help to meet the financial objectives but only an advancement in career does it. So, to avoid dependence on loans and creating more financial burden, enhancement in position is working as a better option for many. On the other side there is another set of people who do not consider this option. For them commitment towards the employer rises from other factors. It includes; geographical location of the firm, environment existing inside it and also a satisfactory income. Above all this comes the most critical one: job satisfaction. They enjoy what they do because it is their passion. These facts clearly suggest how the system of hierarchy takes a back seat on many situations. To conclude, age old aim of getting promoted will always exist for its own reasons. This essay discussed both the statements and vindicated the opinion that there are multiple reasons to believe that achieving the target or putting sincere effort is not solely aimed at moving up in positions.