In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Keeping oneself up-to-date and knowing what is happening around you is very important in today’s fast-growing world. The effectiveness of reading newspapers and watching the news on TV is diminishing day by day. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this and what solutions can be brought about for inculcating this habit. To begin with, time is the biggest constraint for youth in many countries. People have a very busy schedule throughout their week. They usually need to start early to work and this leaves them with very little leisure moment. Even when they are free, they like to spend it by socializing with friends or family members. For example, if a person gets some free time in the morning, he would prefer to go out for a walk or do some exercise which will provide a fillip to the day. Secondly, the youth is more interested in spending time on social media apps like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and many more. These apps are gaining huge momentum amongst the younger generation. Almost every person these days has a social media account and follows them religiously. According to recent statistics, nearly 85% of the younger population mainly in the age groups of 18-40 spend about 4-5 hours a day using these apps. For instance, a person whilst travelling back from work or just waiting for his train to arrive keeps shuffling between these apps. That is the amount of addiction to these apps. According to me, staying up to date with what is happening around the world is very imperative. There are many apps developed for sharing news and information which people can download on their phones. For example, there is an app called In shorts, which provides readers with news in 60 words. So a person can just flip through the top headlines and get instant information within minutes. To summarize, I would like to say that the youth of the country are the future leaders and they must be well informed about the social, political and economic changes happening around them. They must follow the news regularly and could choose the more convenient methods to do so.