Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

In England and Australia, the tribunal is not given the past criminal history of the accused. Some lawyers believe that having access to all the previous records of the defendant helps the judges to return accurate verdicts. In my opinion, I completely agree that the jury ought to be aware of the history of the accused as it will greatly benefit both the board and the defendant. A good reason to change the practising is that it avoids the bench to make any prejudiced decisions.The Previous past of the accused helps in deciding the severity of the retributions. Repeat offenders like serial murderers or rapist, for instance should receive stringent punishments whereas someone who commits misdeeds under the influence of unfavourable circumstances should be treated more lenient. Therefore, having a 360-degree view of the defendant as a whole would lead the board delivering a fair verdict or stance. Furthermore, the innocent people also confer a advantage, if the past records are taken into consideration as they will not be misjudged. For example, a girl may commit murder owing to protect herself from being raped. In particular, the clean history of the girl can save her from harsh sentences either custodial punishment like life imprisonment or capital punishment. Additionally, the previous past gives insight into the criminal's social background, upbringing,education, character and health status. As a result, the board can read the mind of the convicted and take a well defined, appropriate and conscious decision. In conclusion, the tribunal must be made aware of the comprehensive past records of the accused, which led to the judgement without flaws.