Having a good university degree guarantees people a good job. To what extent do you agree?

The reward mechanism of a direct link between a good university and a good job is something that stimulates meritocracy but should not be overstressed. I am aligned on this reward mechanism almost completely, however it must be underlined that it becomes fruitful for society as long as it does not impede students from other universities to land a good job. The reason for this are two. First, the guarantee of a good job having graduated from a good university is what stimulates students to give their best on lower levels of education, from primary school onwards. It also, in parallel, enhances the establishment of many universities, which can aspire of having the best students and faculty and of being globally recognized as centres of excellence. However, this mechanism is something positive for societies if the attainment of a decent job is not precluded to those who do not attend the best universities. Being selected to be part of the elite is something not everyone aspire to. A modern and civilized society should nonetheless empede the student, who have perhaps found their route only years after their peers, a possibility of having a good job, because the mechanism would contraddict itself. In fact, meritocracy would not be in place anymore: if a graduate is skilled enough of performing a job or a task, the hiring should not be precluded only on the basis of the fact that he did not attend a good university. To conclude, rewarding consistently good students is a positive mechanism that fuels excellence, but this should not be on the expences of garanteeing equal opportunities to the ones that demostrates skills and capabilities. A good measure of evaluating the best education system is evaluating the "middle-class" and modern countries should not underestimate that.