Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree and disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In this present world, traffic congestions and amount of pollutant in the air is constantly on the rise. I agree that the rising prices of fossil fuels could tackle this issue. Analyzing the impact of increased petrol prices on people’s transportation habits will prove this. Moreover, I would suggest that promoting the utilization of electric bicycles is one of the measures that could be effective in diminishing those problems. Nowadays, due to fairly low fuel prices, a car has become the most convenient way of commute. However, by significantly increasing the price of petrol, people might switch to more practical and eco-friendly means of transport such as busses, trams and subway trains. For example, a single bus that runs on liquified natural gas can fit as many people as twenty cars. Consequently, using public transportation would minimize the amount of transit on the streets as well as the pollution particles released into the air. Therefore, this makes it clear that the high price of fuel is potentially the most effective way of solving heavy traffic and pollution issues. Furthermore, bicycles have always been known to be the most ecological mode of transport. Nevertheless, sometimes it might be quite hard and time-consuming to pedal up the hill. The solution to this is presented with the invention of electric bikes. Norway, for instance, has the best air quality in the world due to the fact that many citizens switched to this type of transportation. Besides, portability and small size of electrically powered bicycles would enable unobstructed transit flow. Thus, this is why it can be argued that boost in usage of electric bicycles might prove to be another efficient measure. In conclusion, I firmly believe that higher petrol prices would encourage people to switch to public means of transport, and therefore reduce traffic jams and pollution. In addition, encouragement to use electric bicycles could further contribute to lower emission goals and unburden the traffic-grid.