People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It can be easily recognized that communicating through the internet is becoming more and more engaging to people, in comparison with face-to-face interaction. There are several factors that account for this trend, which leads to my belief that this change is for the better. Firstly, online communication is not as time and cost consuming as the real one. The amount of time used to get dressed, travel, etc. is minimized, which also helps reduce the relating expenses. There is no need to pay for the transportation, or the foods and drinks if somebody decides to meet up at the cafe, or a restaurant, for instance. Moreover, when it comes to online shopping, in no way do we have to walk from place to place or stand in queues in cash counters. Instead, we can enter the key words in the search engine and take a look at all of the items on display without having to touch them one by one. Secondly, online interaction secures a higher possibility of attendees’ involvement. Those obstacles that occur in the real world, such as: traffic congestion, hearing or seeing difficulty in open spaces or large rooms, etc. are not of concern anymore. Everybody has the equal opportunity to get access to the information, therefore leaving no excuses for delaying or procrastination. All of the working process is clearly recorded by AI, which intensify the fairness and objectivity. For example, in online learning, the due date for every assignment or homework is clearly informed, as well as the time you submitted it and the scoring as well. This helps raise people’s awareness and sense of responsibility. In conclusion, online interaction has proved to be a superior invention. In believe its potential benefits can definitely make up for the problems that face-to-face communication confronts.