Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

These days people prefer to live a luxurious life. As a result, many individuals own multiple material things and having an automobile, is one of them, which leads to an increase in traffic congestion around the globe. This discourse will delves into all significant components in detail. First and foremost, one of the major reasons for people buying cars is the easy availability of loans. Most of the multinational banks are ready to give vehicle loans at a low-cost interest rate, which attracts the buyers to purchase an automobile. Second, expensive cars are seen as a status symbol in society and hence, many upper middle-class purchase branded cars as a status quo. For instance, in India, there is a trend to gift a costly vehicle, by a father to his daughter on her wedding day as dowry. However, there are relevant ways to solve increasing car ownership, one of which is charging more interest rates on a loan. If loans are given at a higher rate of interest, then individuals will think twice before buying a car by borrowing a loan. Next, the higher authorities can take steps, such as reducing the fares of local commutes to motivate people to use public transport rather than a personal vehicle. Additionally, the government can ask four wheeler owners to pay higher toll and parking charges, which would make them use the local transport. For example, in Spain,the authorities have increased the parking charges to discourage their citizens from using private cars. In conclusion, undoubtedly ownership of private cars has increased at a huge rate because of varied reasons. Corrective measures by the government can surely help in reducing the usage of these vehicles for personal use and encourage individuals to choose public commutes.