Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

A million tonnes of kitchen wastes are being sent to landfills for disposal every day. Most of these wastes were found to be related to dinning habits of community members. In particular, people throw away the majority of food that was brought from shops and restaurants because they simply cannot finish all of them. This excessive food wasting habit has attracted authorities' attention and has to be addressed on a community level immediately. While analysing people's eating habit, there are several contributing factors such as personality and socioeconomic background. However, I believe the most vital underlying reason for excessive food wasting behaviour is a lack of understanding of food importances, especially for millennials in developed countries. The majority of teenagers nowadays have not experienced poverty, not to mention hunger. As a result, it is relatively difficult for them to imagine the frustration during and sensations of hunger. They, in turn, fail to understand the cruciality of having sufficient food when they are provided with abundant and often excessive food supply. Hence, the lack of understanding of hunger leads to people's food -wasting habit. In order to solve this problem, public promotion of food's significance on television and online platforms is desirable. For example, the public education campaign can involve comparisons between a child from middle to rich class of a developed country and another child from the grass-root level of a developing country. With the aid of skinny pictures of the latter child, the importance of not to waste food can instil in people's mind. Therefore, I suggest a large-scale public education. In conclusion, the long-lasting food -wasting behaviour in people has been largely contributed by the lack of understanding of food imports. In response to that, I recommend the government to implement public education to improve their awareness and understanding of this topic.