The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

A language is the identity of a culture and depicts its versatility to the world. In this regard, owing to the recent surge in people travelling and migrating excessively, a few translators quote that such movements of people, especially to developed English-speaking countries, could result in English dominating other languages and becoming the prominent one. In my opinion, it slowly becoming the widely spoken dialect at the global level has immense benefits and certain drawbacks. To begin with, the tourism industry has witnessed a huge spike in people moving across different countries in the past few years. Because of this increased travel, English has slowly evolved to be the widely spoken language allowing crucial communication. This can be considered extremely beneficial to travellers due to its twofold reasons, firstly, both parties speaking English can communicate without any barriers and be able to understand each other precisely. Secondly, everybody commencing to adopt English as the first dialect on par with their mother tongue can undeniably enable people to move across the world to reap opportunities as well getting acclimatized to the local conditions in a facile manner. Indians, for instance, are well-renowned for their impeccable English speaking skills, and this is one reason why they are spread around the planet and lead comfortable lives. In contrast, although English as a universal tongue has multifold benefits, some of its minor drawbacks must not be ignored. There are many instances where English is being imposed rather than allowing residents to assimilate it at their wish. In schools, for instance, few pupils who are reluctant to speak English or having poor linguistic abilities are being subjected to humiliation or bullying by peers as well as the school. Furthermore, as English supersedes other languages, certain sparsely spoken languages are on the verge of becoming extinct and this eventually paves the way for certain traditions to disappear. To conclude, increased movement of travellers around the planet has undoubtedly led to English taking its places as the most frequently and widely talked dialect. The ultimate benefits of this gradual change include better employment chances worldwide and the ability to get accustomed well to the conditions of the destination country. Nevertheless, negligible advantages such as certain languages losing its identity in non-English speaking nations and people excessively being compelled to study the language for their betterment although they are not willing to cease to exist.