In order to solve traffic problems government should tax private cars owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Today, with the advancement in technology, per capita income and easy availability of car loans, the buying of cars become very easy for everyone, due to which roads there is a spike in the road congestion. To alleviate this issue, it has been suggested by the scholars that the government should impose heavy taxes on private car owners and invest that money on enhancing the quality of public transport. There are many pros and cons of this move which are discussed in detail in the following paragraphs. The primary reasons for taxing the private automobile owners heavily are multifold. Firstly, with the increase in the tax, a person will refrain himself from buying a car, hence the number of cars on the roads will decrease which will also plunge the air pollution level. For instance, as per the result of an experiment conducted by the Indian government in which ceratin vehicles having number plate ending with even and odd numbers will ply on days with even and odd dates respectively, the quality of air was improved drastically. Secondly, people will walk to bus stations, auto stands to hire a vehicle leading to their more physical activities, eventually, the health issues, a major concern of developed nations, will be also be catered. So, this step would contribute to the initiative taken by many organizations for curbing the burning issues existing on this Earth-like Global warming, Health, obesity, etc. There are many disadvantages to this major act. The safety of girls, children would be at risk while travelling during the wee hours of the morning and evening, therefore, every time the parents would have to accompany their kids, which is pretty difficult in the situation where both the parent are working. Moreover, it is not always possible for everyone to travel to bus stands or auto stands all the time, mainly in case of illness, in such cases door to door service is more beneficial which is not provided by public transport. In other words, in case of an injury where immediate doctor's assistance is required, one cannot wait for an ambulance to come and take the patient to the hospital, at that juncture having a personal car could save the life of an individual. So, the advantages of this solution are overshadowed by the disadvantages. To conclude, the government must first ensure the safety of the passengers, enhance the availability and frequency of public transport before implementing the steps to reduce the usage of personal cars. Looking at the advantages of owning an automobile, it is anticipated that it has become a necessity and it is anticipated that this trend will keep on thriving in the future.