Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case ? What could be the Disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many people prefer to establish their own business rather than work for someone or a group in these days. Moreover, many government and banks provide financial support and encourage people to have their own business. However, in my opinion, this idea has both positive and negative aspects and individuals should be aware of what they can lose before taking such a decision. There are several reasons for this case. The main reason for this case people prefer to be independent such as having a more flexible working schedule. In addition, people want a schedule which allows them to start and finish their workday when they want. This means that they can come to work earlier or later than the set time. For instance, it gives them more control over time which is important to individuals who are parents, has some health issues or has 2 jobs. However, there are several drawbacks to this. First of all, there is no guarantee that the self-employed will earn enough to live a comfortable life, while others who work for a company receive an exact amount of paycheck every end of the period and they can predict their future so they don’t have to worry about financial issues. Secondly, individuals have to spend more energy to achieve their goals which makes them mentally tired and cause health problems. For example, a study conducted in the south and north shore showed that the number of neurones decreases in the brain of the self-employees. In conclusion, it is considered by many that one of the benefits of run their own businesses is having a flexible schedule, however, they should be aware of drawbacks such as health issues and less life comfort.