Some people think that nuclear energy is better than other sources of power for meeting ever-increasing global needs. To what extent do you agree?

The growth in the world's population and economy and rapid urbanization results in a substantial increase in energy demand. It is believed that nuclear power would meet the consumption of the earth. While there are some benefits/advantages of building these plants, I would argue that using renewable sources is a better option. On the one hand, investment in nuclear energy is beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, it could provide a stable supply of power, whereas the supply of alternative energy such as solar or wind power depends mainly on weather conditions which are sometimes unpredictable. Therefore, weather variability could greatly affect renewable power generation. Another advantage is that setting up a nuclear power factory requires a small area of land, while the amount of space for a solar energy system is much larger. On the other hand, there are several risks when exploiting nuclear power. Firstly, radioactive waste produced from electricity generation using this energy could pose a serious threat to the environment and people’s health. For example, the accident that happened in Fukushima in Japan several decades ago is a typical case in point. As a result, the ecosystem in affected areas was virtually destroyed, and thousands of people died during the evacuation procedure and after the disaster due to disease caused by radiation exposure. Secondly, I believe that renewable energy, like solar or wind power, is much safer because they produce no radioactive materials as exposure to these materials can lead to fatal diseases such as cancer. Furthermore, thanks to technological advances, the supply of renewable resources has become more stable and cost-effective in recent years. Thus, I think that in the future renewable power stations could generate enough energy to meet the growing global demands. In conclusion, although using nuclear energy is advantageous in some ways, I think that it should be better to use renewable power due to the positive impact on protecting the environment and people's health.