Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The rapid increase in traffic accidents over the last decade has become a serious problem for many people. While some of them believe the solution to this situation is a severe punishment, others, myself included, think there must be another suitable method to reduce the accident percentage. First of all, people always tend to avoid harsh punishments. Therefore, strict law will help to persuade people to drive more carefully. The consequences of breaking the law such as high penalties to pay and imprisonment also make them afraid to act badly in public. To show an example, our government already make laws that provide a big fine and prison sentence for an underage teenager that bring a motorcycle. However, despite the punishment and law, there are still many people who impose traffic rules. Because of this, others believe the idea of strict punishment is not efficient and there is still another method to do. Giving people education about traffic at school since youth so they understand the law before taking a license, install a camera in every road and making periodic inspections, could be a good example for government to do. As a result, many individuals will respect the rules and feel afraid if they break the law. Also, the government ought to repair the road and add on public transportation like bicycle and buses, so people would not use personal transportation and will be led to reducing traffic accidents. In conclusion, many people support the view that severe punishment makes people will not violate the traffic due to the bad consequences while others think it’s not efficient. I believe that punishment should in conjunction with measures to reduce traffic accidents.