Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the development of technology, people have a longer lifespan and have more elderly people in society. Nowadays, the elders are usually taken care of care centers or nursing homes, instead of their relatives. While I believe that there are some benefits, I think that it also has drawbacks. Good care centers have more benefits because the environment is much suitable for the elder. The center has professional facilities to take care of them such as wheelchairs and disability toilets. Therefore, they can fit the elder’s needs. Secondly, the center will have activities and lessons to make the elder strengthen their body and exercise their brain. This is very important to keep a healthy condition. Lastly, the elder people can company with each other. They look like a big family in the center. They can talk to and look after each other. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to it. If the care center did not have professional care workers, the elders would have been looked after with bad situations. For example, some workers will abuse or hit the elders. Besides, as there are many elders in the center, they cannot be taken care comprehensively. So, if there are some situations that happened, they are not able to find the situation immediately. Furthermore, some elder people will have mental problems for many reasons. For instance, they may think they are abandoned by their children or some of them prefer living alone. All in all, those may put the elder in more dangerous situations. When more and more elder people are looking after by care centers, there are some positive and negative influences at the same time.