Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds and provide us avenues whilst making our lives easy and comfortable. Therefore, many people tend to believe that academic subject Science and Technology must be given too-notch position rather than history because the past doesn't hold any implication in today life. I partially agree with this notion and acknowledge that both subjects are equally critical. In this essay, I will throw some light on the significance of both subjects. To embark on, on the one side of the coin, technology is ubiquitous in all walks of life. For example, multiple appliances we use in our day to day life such as the washing machine to wash clothes, the bulb for light, the electricity for operating them all are inventions of science. Even during the pandemic, scientist do research to develop an antidote which saves the lives of the huge diaspora of population. Moreover, this trend will keep on thriving in the long run, so career prospects in this field are much brighter than other. So, people insist on giving more focus on this subject than any other. On the other side of the coin, the knowledge of our roots, culture and past is equally important for the betterment of mankind. The learnings from past events or wars prevent us from repeating the mistakes that our ancestors have committed. For example, the genocide led to the mass destruction of the population during World war 2 educates us that everybody's life is important and we should respect each other irrespective of caste, creed, sex and religion. These are the true values and learnings of the life which are required to maintain harmony and peace. To conclude, I recapitulate that all the academic subjects have their greatness as science makes our life easy and history for required to generate a sense of compassion. So, it should be left up to the student which subject he wants to opt as per his area of interest.