Some people say that all mobile/cell phone conversations should be banned in public and crowded places. Others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

With the advancement of technology, almost everyone owns smartphones these days. While some feel that conversing through them in community areas should be restricted, I side with those who believe that it is impossible having taken into account emergencies and the implementation of such policy. On the one hand, supporters of introducing a ban on public-made phone calls might argue that they are a serious source of distraction and annoyance. Take a theater for example. As a result of a person answering their phone, not only do the audience feel annoyed, but also do the performers because it may take their attention away. In addition to this, it is not uncommon to see some people using abusive language during conversations, which is inappropriate in public places, such as parks. Young children might negatively be influenced consequently. Therefore, there seems to be a point in this prohibition. Despite the argumentation above, I support those who think there are two main reasons why restricting phone calls does not work. Firstly, some phone calls require an urgent reaction: emergencies. Under such circumstances, ignoring a call is not the right course of action because a person’s life may be saved through a single call to an ambulance, for instance. Secondly, putting this suggestion into practice will not be possible unless an intelligent enough jamming machine is invented to sort out which calls, both incoming and outgoing, are urgent and immediate. I do understand that these calls are a cause of annoyance, but banning them altogether is wrong and unfeasible. In conclusion, although some people argue that cell phone calls should be limited in crowded places, I agree with those who believe that it is not workable as difficulties of putting it into practice are insurmountable.