The air we breathe has a major impact on our health and the environment. However, the air pollution is constantly growing and at current levels it can be fought only globally. That is to say, individual efforts to improve air quality will not give any results, and it's solely responsibility of our governments to reduce air pollution. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decade, air pollution has increased rapidly and become a threat to human health and the environment. It is often argued that individual efforts would not help to ameliorate this deterioration as it has already reached a hazardous level, thus it is only governments' responsibility to tackle the problem. Although I agree that mainly governments should impose tighter controls in order to save the environment, I think every individual must cooperate. To commence with, owing to improve quality of air government of each country should definitely take effective steps as only governments can change laws and ensure that they are enforced. There are many reasons for increasing air pollution where authorities should monitor the situation. For example, Emissions of harmful gases from industries should be analysed more closely and fines for exceeding the legal limit should be increased. Additionally, limiting the number of cars on the road by increasing the petrol tax will further help to reduce carbon monoxide emission into the atmosphere. Therefore, it is essential to take such legal steps by respective country leaders. However, the government cannot oversee or control actions of all individuals, hence It is also a responsibility of every individual to follow rules and act jointly with authorities to control atmospheric pollution. Firstly, people should make the right choices to recycle, reduce energy consumption and purchase only environmentally friendly products. For instance, avoiding products containing Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) is significant. Secondly, people should opt for public transport to commute to work in this way it reduces the individual carbon footprint. As a matter of fact, each person's contribution is obligatory for improving air quality. In Conclusion, I would like to reiterate that while legal regulations to reduce air pollution are much necessary for the sake of human and mother nature, I believe that every person should also participate in governments' actions.