Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Employees often ask the job applicants about their personal details like marital status, hobbies and interests. Although many are of the opinion that such information can be useful, others do not agree. In my opinion, asking for personal information is useful as it helps to completely judge the personality of the candidate. On the one hand, many consider personal details relevant and I agree. Firstly, certain information such as hobbies can help decode an individual's overall personality. For instance, a recent research report printed in The New York Times stated three-fourth of the people playing darts during free time are focused and have a clear vision. Secondly, marital status can give an idea about the person's longevity with the organization. It is often seen that bachelors, due to lesser responsibilities, keep switching between jobs, additionally, unmarried women are most likely to take a transfer or change the current job post marriage. On the other hand, one reason for people to believe that personal information is of no use is because of its non-relevance as one of the parameters to judge an individual's profile for the job. To illustrate, a psychological test designed by Google states that a person's personal details play only five percentage role in its personality judgement. Another reason could be that work experience and academic qualifications far outweigh the personal details. In other words, such information is just a part of the person and it cannot define its characteristics, thus to select a candidate one should consider their complete profile. In conclusion, while many believe that personal information is unnecessary, I believe that it is important to judge the characteristics of the candidate. Moreover, it helps decide if the individual can be fit for the role.