Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The opinion is divided on the eligibility criteria on college admissions. One group believes that campuses should accept every student who applies for admission where other believes that seats should only be allocated to students who has achieved high marks in their exams. This essay will delve into both sides of the argument and correspondingly will shed light on my opinion in the conclusion. To begin with, Students with the highest GPA should be offered placements in their preferred choice. Institutes should prioritize their admission in university compares to other applicants. For example, In prestigious colleges, a student with strong academic background should be given a seat in their preferred course instead of offering it to a rich student who can influence the decision with his money. There are many cases in recent years that many rich parents commit admission fraud to get their offsprings into college. Thus, it is an unethical and unfair practice. Additionally, Many universities deliberately only admit students with good scores to boost their college image. They use this tactic to create niche educational institute to attract funding from many businesses. For instance, MIT only enrols A-grade students, to reflect their positive image to companies like Google and IBM to receive funding for their departments. Hence, a reputed image of the college results incorporate fundings. While on the other hand, many people believe that college enrolment should be open to everyone. All students should have a fair chance of getting into their chosen college course. For instance, Universities like IBA take admission tests for admission, so it gives fair chance to all students to get into college regardless of their high school result. As there can be myriad reasons for children not to perform well in any particular school year. These results should not come in their way to jeopardize their future prospects. Similarly, sometimes due to financial or domestic issues some people cannot continue their further studies. Many drops out of school to ensure they can support their families financially. For example, research shows many teenagers who belongs to low-income houses drops out of school to support their families. To conclude, I believe a college education should not be treated as a privilege only for rich people. Everyone should deserve a chance to attain a good education. Also, Highschool results should not be the sole deciding factor for universities, they should consider all aspects of a student for the admission.