The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut subjects such as arts and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on subject such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

In the techno-savvy era, the importance of technology is increasing day-by-day. Some consider that schools should more emphasis on the subjects related to technology rather than focusing on music and arts. This essay will discuss why it is entirely necessary to have the subjects like arts and music in a school along with the information technology to provide the children with more option for their career as well as to justify their freedom to choose whatever they want. To begin with, in an era of freedom, everybody has the right to choose what they think is suitable for them. Because, some of the students might not be interested in the IT term and they want to be a musician in the future, so every school should provide the students with equal opportunities. For instance, if a child does not have any interest in information technology, then there is not any way to force him/her to take that course because in this way he/she may not feel confident and not be able to give his/her best in the study. However, if the youngsters will take the subjects according to their preferences, then there will be higher chances to succeed in life. Moreover, no one can predict the future and therefore, it is the responsibility of every institute to provide more than one career options to their learners, so that they can go in any stream according to the situation. For example, sometimes a job in the IT department requires 5 years experience in the field, then it will become difficult for the beginners to qualify that requirement, as a result, they lose their opportunity. But, on the other hand, the experience is not required in the arts and music fields and the beginners can start easily at the entry-level. Overall, everyone deserves a chance to go with their dream stream, so it is better to make all the fields available for them. To conclude, due to the increasing demand for technology, the criteria of every academy has been changed from the past few years. This essay discussed why it is essential to make a balance in technology and other practical skills for the curriculum. In my opinion, I partially disagree with the statement, because I think it is better to have information technology and the practical subjects together in a university.