Some people say that in all levels of education from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Learning is a life-long process. There are some people who believe that every educational institution, even from the elementary to tertiary level, promotes theoretical aspects than practical training. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint because it is highly essential to spend a significant amount of time for this since this prepares the students to secure better prospects. First and foremost reason why the curricula design in such a way to focus a large portion of the academic year on teaching factual knowledge than training aspects is to provide a strong base to build practical skills. In other words, without having a thorough understanding of the reasons behind every action, the growth of the learner would be limited. For example, Chemistry, the students are taught regarding the periodical table, and structure of an atom, before going laboratory to see chemical reactions, knowing the fundamental aspects is crucial to develop skills in this subject. Due to this, many pedagogical experts construct syllabi to deliver a theoretical side of a subject. Another fact is that the learners are immature to enter the practicality of their syllabus since their brains hardly prepare to acquire such in-depth knowledge. This means there are many nuances require to learn before starting to practice them, this is impossible until they well-worsed. For instance, allowing a 10-year school going child to involve in researching a vaccine for cancer, can be futile since they are not equipped to handle this. Therefore, our system of education solely engages in delivering facts than skills. In conclusion, while it is thought that the amount time allocated for practical aspect is minimum and I strongly believe that this has many positives. This allows the children to have a strong factual understanding, which is essential to develop practical skills. It should be suggested that children are taught the basics.