Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Each profession is associated with different types of clothes. Some companies put a great emphasis on how their employees should dress why others think that how well the employees work should be the first priority. In this essay, both opinions will be discussed and I will explain why I feel that whether or not to take clothing into serious consideration depends on the types of jobs. For certain professions, dressing smartly is not only an important key to the company's success but it also affects the employees' work results. Smart appearance helps to improve the employees' confidence as well as to ensure the clients that they will be served by professionals. For example, salesmen from the drug companies or cosmetic stores must be cautious when selecting their clothes as their appearances have a huge influence on their sales capacities. Several studies indicate that in communication between people, the massage receivers will firstly internalize the senders' outer characteristics before processing the rest of the information in their brains. Thus, well-dressed employees are more attractive and convincing to the customers. Such a situation contributes greatly to the achievement of the companies' sales. However, the fact that some companies don't strictly regulate their employees' uniforms is understandable. People who don't have to initiate many interactions with the outsiders such as software engineers should be allowed to dress whatever is comfortable to them for the reason that work quality is solely affected by personal abilities regardless of their appearances. Hence, the independency of jobs can be used as a guideline for the employees' clothing styles. To conclude,while smart-dressing people are required in some companies, other companies pay more attention to the employees' work outcomes. I think that clothing regulation should be determined by their jobs. If an appearance is not affecting the work results then the clothing can allow some degree of flexibility.