Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

The trend of exploring unconventional places have gained a lot of demand in recent years. However, sometimes terrains have extreme circumstances that make living difficult. In this essay, I intend to discuss the upsides and disadvantages of this trend and the rationale behind it. The two principal advantages of travelling to the locations with extreme conditions are it gives an opportunity to explore the untapped places and avoid conventional travellers. Firstly, several contemporary vacationers choose unfamiliar locations to have an adventurous experience. For example, the Himalaya mountain range is one of the toughest terrains in India. Trekking to such sites, and knowing more about the climate, living conditions which made those places distinct from others would be a momentous experience. Secondly, unlike popular tourist spaces, offbeat points are less crowded and provide a chance to learn about the culture, cuisine, and fashion more keenly in a native manner. However, travelling to such dangerous areas also has some disadvantages like lack of medical assistance and basic facilities. On the one hand, lack of emergency health assistance is a critical problem while travelling to sites with severe conditions. For instance, a remote island in Malaysia has eye-catching mountains and clean beaches, but unfortunately,it lacks sophisticated hospitals; as a matter of fact, any medical emergency here can be treated only with first -aid, and not with critical care. On the other hand, scarcity of fundamental needs like water, and food force guests to carry additional luggage which may destroy the thrill of the travel. In conclusion, although visiting places with tough conditions would add a thrilling adventure and knowledge, one needs to equip himself to meet any unwelcoming situations there.