Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, asking for personal information when recruiting is common, and it’s often argued that such info is important, while others disagree and argue that it’s so private to ask this kind of questions. In my opinion, I believe that it’s essential to know about employees before recruitment. In the one hand, asking for detail is an important step of the recruitment’s process, candidates should give as much as possible info about themselves because it helps the employer to get an idea about them. In other words, at the first meet, it’s impossible for the recruiter to guess which kind of personality he has in front of him, so hobbies give i ndication about his personality as well as his mindset. For instance, it’s known about people practising yoga as tidy, organized and quit indeed helpful, therefore this information help to make a decision about him indeed his integration. In the other hand, the opponents of this view argue that it’s unnecessary to talk about personal details to the recruiter, this simply because employers should not judge people according to their likes. To elaborate it, the most important thing for the manager when deciding whether accept or not a candidate should base on the skills related to the job offer, moreover his experience and capacity to do the required tasks. A recent survey released by San Diego University has shown that the rate of refusing candidates practising boxing, even they fill the conditions relating to the job position is very high. Patrons assume that they can create problems at work in the future. To conclude, even though there is some discrimination during recruitments, sometimes people are refused because of their marital situation or the sport they are practising, however,each detail about the new employee is crucial during recruitment. I think that this information is vital because it introduces the employee to his colleagues and superiors and allows him to integrate well.