Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

Indeed, economic growth assists enormous nations to perfect citizens’ quality of life in recent decades. While some people think the important shocial responsibilities are losing at the same time which brings negative impacts to the society. In my opinion, I support people to improve their living quality through economy and this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, the social values can be better prevented after fulfilling people ’s basic needs. According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, human beings have five catalogues of needs: physical, safety, love and belongings, esteem, and self-actualization. In his theory, higher needs in the hierarchy begin to emerge when people feel they have sufficiently satisfied the previous need. For example, having social connections is related to better physical health and, conversely, feeling isolated has negative consequences for health and well-being. On the contrary, it is hard to imagine that residents of a undeveloped country can maintain their values while they are living under the poverty. To straggling survival, the poor might have higher possibility to commit a crime such as robbery and thievery. As shown in the recent news, the crime rates are dramatically higher in those unstable and the Third World countries. Hence, to maintain the valued social traditions like respect, fairness and responsibility, citizens should have owned a better quality of life firstly. On the other hand, it is undeniable that some communities and individuals ignored the social values purposely for earning the massive profits illegally. In that cases, I believe that the authorities can introduce a fairer and strict business regulations and laws to regulate those unfair competitions and illegal commercial actions. For example, there are two types of rip-offs well known nowadays, which are Ponzi Schemes and Pyramid Schemes. Commonly, both of schemes make participants believed that they would actually earn returns from their investments. Since the facts of the schemes exposures, several countries have listed these kinds of commercial products as unlawful acts. In a result, the law and regulations helped people to develop economy in a fair way to maintain the social values while improving economy. In conclusion, even though there are some commercial actions betraying the social values for earning illegal profits. I believe that under the supervision system, the increase of people ’s life quality will bring more merits to the society, and also it can help to prevent valuable social qualities.