In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

The feasibility of shopping, working and communicating through the Internet is gradually eliminating the necessity of in-person encounters. However, I believe the merits of this opportunity outnumber its demerits and the lowered volume of traffic in addition to the possibility of long-range communication will be discussed as reasons for this claim in this essay. One chief benefit of using the Internet as a means of making purchases is that working and communicating will lower the demand for transport, thus eradicating the need for face-to-face contact. Such a decrease in the volume of vehicles on the roads would result in fewer harmful gas emissions, which could significantly contribute to creating a cleaner environment. Furthermore, reduced commuting burden yields and consequently more leisure moments for individuals. That means that leisure time could be spent in various ways such as working, studying and socialising with family and friends to name a few, which would be more productive and enjoyable. Another key merit of using the Internet would be the emergence of state-of-the-art telecommunication applications. These technologies have made it possible for those with access to the Internet to get in touch and send and receive audiovisual content by pushing just a few buttons. This presents a stark contrast to the situation only a few decades ago when long-distance communication was possible solely through paper-based letters, which could possibly take months to reach the recipient. There are, however, some drawbacks using the internet to interact frequently. First of all, there is the possibility that the lack of contact brought by technological advancements could potentially weaken human bonds. Taking into consideration that humans are sociable species, this could pose a dire threat to our mental health. This predicament, however, would be mitigated by the extra free time technological developments create for us. To recapitulate, the Internet is continually demolishing the need for person-to-person contact and this trend brings about numerous benefits. Humans can have a more sustainable environment as well as more free time generated and a reduced need to commute in addition to the feasibility of conducting long-distance communication in the easiest way possible.