In many part of the world, women study science and technology but do not work in these fields. What measures can be taken to encourage women to work in science and technology?

Today, women in so many countries major in science and technology, although they seldom practice in those sectors. However, there are some practical steps that can be taken to ensure that this development changes in the coming years. This essay will outline some of the steps which can provide a solution to this current trend. First of all, stereotypes about gender and intellect should be combated. Unfortunately, media depictions of people in technological fields are often narrow and perpetuate false stereotypes, such as that scientists are eccentric, nerdy or obsessive and detached from reality. Also, parents and teachers can step in and shield girls from the belief that they are less intellectually capable and therefore less suited to develop careers in technology than boys. For example, in many schools, there are clubs that teach young girls how to code in a fun way by including fun activities like painting and drawing. In addition, young girls can be taught about successful women who have excelled in the technological field and this can portray such women as relatable by highlighting how they became scientists. Also, it is important for teachers to provide opportunities for women to succeed in science-related tasks by building their confidence from an early age. For example, a teacher might frame a programming assignment as a game instead, which might help young girls feel more motivated and capable of success in the technological field. In conclusion, it is obvious that parents and educators are in a great position to help dispel stereotypes that discourage girls from becoming scientists. And one of the best ways to do that, I believe, is to create environments that promote the idea that science careers are within their reach.