Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Urban architecture is an important aspect of social life. Old buildings are part of this complexity, for it carries the cities' History, Art and social function for people. Although restoration of these constructions can have high costs and main cities have great issues related to living and housing, I tend to disagree with this statement. Firstly, every ancient wall is like a page of History. Their preservation is part of the culture and can serve a great deal for education, getting to know a people's origin, legends and capabilities. When buildings get to be restored, this legacy is protected. Secondly, another way to value these places is to give them a social function, such as converting them into museums, cultural centres, logements and social service headquarters. The reason for that is that when a town has a great amount of entertainment and artistic experiences to offer, people tend to dedicate more of their time in personal growth and new perspectives of life. Finally, every city needs to offer public space for gathering and sharing it. Covering the downtown with lots of small pilled apartments do not correspond to an investment in social life and leisure for everyone, since they only engage people to be apart and closed up to themselves. In conclusion, although the financial perspective tends to highlight the advantages of building new homes, the old ones have an immeasurable value and can not be replaced for anything more than their preservation.