Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think this is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art is a beautiful representation of a variety of cultures from across the world. But, nowadays a very small number of people are inclined towards it and more interest is being shown in the subjects of science, technology and business. In this essay, I would discuss some of the reasons for this newer change and would like to propose certain ways by which people could be attracted to the artwork. Firstly, it is a well-known fact that artists are paid less compared to other professionals. For example, in Pakistan, if we compare the monthly wedge of a bank manager or an accountant, which is around 60,000 to 80,000 rupees per month, with that of either a painter or a musician, who hardly earn an amount of 30,000 to 40,000 rupees monthly, we would find an obvious difference. Moreover, there are more job opportunities for people like doctors and engineers than a sculptor or a writer. This problem of low salaries and fewer jobs is a strong reason why people are not fond of being an artist. In contrast, if at the state level, this issue is addressed and the government tries to offer jobs with healthy and equal salary packages to both the science and art workers, there is a high likelihood of people gaining back the interest in this field. Secondly, the way a school curriculum is designed has a lot to do with the students’ attraction towards art. For instance, it is a common mistake observed in many school syllabi that, they do not allocate an adequate proportion of the subjects like painting, drawing and music. This is because, unfortunately, it is the perception of school and college administration that these subjects are of no value to the students when they grow up. This matter, however, could be very easily solved if a balance in the education system gives paramount importance when setting the schedule of classes. This would have a tremendous benefit as more attention would be drawn towards pursuing the lost passion of being an artist. To conclude, by increasing the pay scale for the jobs of the artwork and improvising undergraduate syllabi, the new generation could be attracted towards the long-forgotten profession of art.