Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

An increasing number of travellers decide to visit extreme places, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. This essay will present that overcoming an individual's limit is the main advantage of travelling to these dangerous sites and the downside is that travellers are unable to receive swift medical care if injured. One of the benefits of tourists visiting places with harsh conditions is that the person can face and defeat his or her weaknesses. Travelling to these places can be highly daunting and unpredictable, where plans could go off the rail and tourists are left to meet the challenges. In such urgent situations, tourists can perceive and learn how feeble they are, but at the same time, they can cultivate boldness and search for alternative ways to manage the adversity. For instance, while I got lost in the Gobi desert, I had to control my fear of sheer darkness and I learned to regain my composure by keeping track of the direction of my footsteps. However, it is also notable that tourists who visit the challenging regions will find immense difficulties in getting prompt medical treatment. Most tourist sites that are intact tend to maintain insufficient or remote medical facilities. If a traveller accidentally falls into a critical condition whilst travelling, he or she has to wait a lengthy period for the rescue operation or conduct self-treatment, which is almost impossible. The Nature magazine reported that more than 1,000 trekkers of the Mount Everest died while waiting for the rescue helicopters to arrive. To conclude, the merit of exploring extreme regions is the possibility to breed new traits by battling against the hardships, yet, it is worrying that tourists are also prone to lose their lives due to inadequate medical system in these locations.