Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children's free time is often a preoccupation for parents and educators. It is important that it is filled with activities, games and studies, as a way of protecting them by keeping them occupied. While some people think it is best that it happens collectively, others might prefer to stimulate autonomy and being alone. In my opinion, these both views are equally important and beneficial. At one hand, when engaging with other people for activities or tasks, being together taught how to work together and be respectful to their colleagues. This might help a child to learn about limits and the power of union. For example, during a game, there will be rules and goals to be achieved, and it will only work when there are good communication and partnership. In society, the same midset is greatly valuable in professional life and conscience of social responsibility. From another point of view, learning how to be alone can be an important skill for the whole life. Autonomy allows people to get to know themselves, exploring their hobbies and preferences and having no obligation or anxiety about following the others' timing. A situation to illustrate is the habit of drawing. This skill might pass through multiples evaluations from outside, but it is mostly an individual activity that requires practice and internal thoughts. Furthermore, children that like to draw are usually absorbed by it and do not start from order, but from an inner will of imagination and abstraction, with no judgement. Even more, they learn how to be comfortable even by themselves. From my perspective, both behaviours are complementary. The practice of being alone and being in a group develops skills that promote harmony and wellbeing. At the same time, there is a sense of community and autonomy, respect for the other and self-respect. It is an important balance to think the world from two points of view. In conclusion, engagement is precious and when it comes to children's time is even more important since they are starting to form their own perspectives, abilities and personalities. Group activities and individual occupation have a major role in their learning progress.