Traffic and housing problems in major cities could be solved by moving large companies and factories and their employees to the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is argued that if conglomerates and factories, as well as their workers, change their operations to rural regions, traffic and housing issues in urban cities can be solved. I believe that this will certainly reduce traffic congestions in major cities, however, high property prices will remain unresolved. The movement of the large working population to rural areas will have a positive impact in reducing the number of cars on highways, therefore, lesser traffic jams. The majority of the workforce in metropolises commute with their cars to their workplace. As such, if big businesses decide to leave the major cities, a large portion of the population and their automobiles are expected to depart as well, ensuring a smoother flow of vehicles in such areas. The Roh administration, for instance, moved its public organisations to a countryside named "Sejong" and the Mapo freeway saw an immediate decline of traffic delays and accidents during peak hours. However, housing prices in megacities will continue to rise regardless of the locations of businesses activities. This is because countryside regions provide insufficient educational institutions, thus, they are unable to host the employees' families, giving them no other option but to purchase houses in two locations. For example, despite shifting the operations of public companies to Sejong, property prices in Mok-dong, an education zone in Seoul skyrocketed. Unless local authorities are to develop a full-fledged infrastructure, the demand for houses in major cities are sought to increase. In conclusion, this essay argued that while moving the majority of the urban workforce out to remote regions may solve the traffic delay problem, it is highly unlikely to see greater availability of affordable housing in industrially advanced cities as rural places are poorly equipped with educational facilities that can accommodate employees' families as well.