Some people argue that experience is the best teacher. Life experiences can teach more effectively than books or formal school education. How far do you agree with this idea? Support your opinion with reasons and/or your personal experience.

It is true that “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” A person can learn a lot and retain what he learns through experience. Although few experts claim that books or formal education are comparatively more constructive and positive approaches. In my opinion, life’s valuable lessons are learnt from experience and so the knowledge gained from experience is more important. Firstly, subjects including language, art and drama require students to learn from practical experiences.Though, theories can be taught from books and exams but, how to use the language or perform in front of audiences must be learnt through practice only. For instance, for a designer or an artist practical skills like creativity and innovative ideas that they gain with training is more beneficial than theory. Therefore, experiences enhance knowledge from books or formal education. However, without textbooks some concepts are impossible to understand, which include literature, law and philosophy. It is essential for students to know the fundamental theories and learn from related case studies in books. For example, in the professionals like teachers, lawyers, doctors cannot execute work without formal qualifications and a degree. Thus, in this case, candidates must acquire fundamental theories or concepts by reading related journals, books and articles to get jobs in those fields. In conclusion, while there are compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that individuals learn from both reading and performing different activities to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in life.