Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In this modern and technological progressive century, when almost everybody has digital devices and computers and video games have certainly had an enormous impact on the young generation. Personally, from my point of view, these games have some positive circumstances such as improvements of the language knowledge, memory and intellect, but sometimes we can also view negative effects in terms of social and sports activities, ineptitude to manage their time and unwillingness to do other things. On the one hand, there is an enormous market of video games and it has included a lot of different genres and very helpful for education or development of young individuals. For instance, several years ago Russian scientists find out that gamers have known better foreigner language than their peers, who have not played in such games. In addition, children can learn something by combining boring studying with entertainment. On the other hand, we have heard a lot of negative opinions of scientists, who consider this trend only like negative process, which will lead to plenty of terrible consequences. For instance, scientists from the USA realized, that simultaneously with an increase of popularity of video games among teenagers the amount of criminal cases has also increased. In addition, psychologists around the globe have noticed that modern children have many mental and sociological problems. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that the popularity of computer games has many circumstances and effects including positive and negative sides such as education and development, but also psychological problems. Furthermore, a lot of things depends on society, parents and personal characteristics of children and it is almost impossible to analyse effects without context. Looking towards the future, it is no doubt a given that in alignment with the current course we should accept this new feature and try to be on the same page with our children.