In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

The uses of close circuit cameras in public spots have been increased in a large amount nowadays in order to decrease the crime rate. Even though it helps the government to ensure security, some people consider that their freedoms have been confined. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of video cameras in public places are eclipsed by its advantages. This essay will first demonstrate the merits of cameras in the effective operation of security services and business enterprises, followed by an analysis of the primary disadvantage namely restriction of freedom which is not valid. Despite the drawbacks bellow, the benefits gained by installing video cameras in all public places are extremely useful. One of the major upsides is that police can now easily trace criminals by watching videos of crime spots. As offenders know that they will be identified by cameras, the crime rate has been decreasing day by day. For instance, it is reported in the Daily Star that pickpocketing has increased by 80% in Hong Kong after installing close circuit cameras in every shopping mall. Another major advantage is that business owners can run their shops up to late-night without being tensed about security. As a result, the economy of that area grows due to the increased trade. For example, Thailand’s GDP continues to flourish by doing business at night and the country’s government has set up cameras in all public places to provide security to the business people. Admittedly, there are some issues involved from close circuit cameras in public places. One demerit is that celebrities cannot do anything as per their whims. This hampers the right to freedom. This is illustrated by the fact that a video was viral in the social networking sites related to the shopping and fun activities of Anushka Sharma and Virat Kholi. This leaked video obviously embarrassed them and negatively affected their image. In conclusion, the demerits of having video cameras in public places are overshadowed by its merits because of gaining security and safety as well.