Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with?

University education plays a crucial role in a student's life. While some people think that attending classes should be made compulsory, others argue that students should not be forced for it. I completely agree with the former argument, and I will support my view with examples. Firstly, attending classes helps students develop their fundamental skills. This is because the subjects are taught with their application and it helps students implement them on their jobs. For example, medical students assist the qualified doctors when they treat their patients and it helps them understand the sensitivity of the actual scenario. Furthermore, law students practice real cases in the moot courts to learn the jurisdiction and how legal battles are fought during a genuine trail. On the other hand, if students do not attend classes, most of them tend to indulge in unlawful activities. This is due to their adolescent age because of which there is a strong possibility that their mind may get inclined towards bad habits such as drugs and alcohol. For instance, at the Apex University, where class attendance is not a compulsion, cases of illegal activities are very high. According to their discipline department, approximately 60% of the students have drugs abuse and gang fight complaints registered against them. In contrast, if attending lectures are made compulsory, there would be a good chance to reduce such deeds. To conclude, in my opinion, if classes are made necessary to attend, not only students will learn application skills but also there will less case of illicit actions.