Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While learning arts subjects has become a requirement in high school curricula in many countries, there is a viewpoint insisting that teenagers do not need to spend time practicing arts. I disagree with the above statement as painting and drawing always play an essential part in students’ developmental journey. Firstly, by learning how to paint or draw, high school students can nurture their aesthetic skills which help them to learn how to express their thoughts and emotions. In other words, learning arts assists teenagers to develop holistically, and be able to take care of their mental health. Taking learning music as an example, research has proved that knowing how to sing and dance is one of the best ways for teenagers to relieve stress, improve their self-esteem, and have more confidence in themselves. Secondly, arts subjects enhance students’ creativity, which is significant in the future due to the fact that nobody can predict how the world will change in the next fifty years. Therefore, the school should treat arts with the same status as literacy and numeracy. Unlike science subjects, arts can trigger creativity in teenagers at a high level because students are not frightened to be wrong. As a result, they will have the capacity to come up with the original ideas and look at problems from diverse perspectives. In conclusion, it would be a big mistake if we underestimate the role of arts in the school curriculum. Learning arts not only helps teenagers to take care of their mental health but also improves their creative thinking.