Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. Others say that books, films and the Internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures. Do you agree or disagree?

Although travelling to other countries thought by some to be mandatory for learning any culture, others believe that it might be discovered on the Internet. I completely disagree with the statement as reading and observing information can be misleading and do not provide immersing in customs. On one hand, information searched from such sources as films, articles, blogs are checked and controlled by nobody. This means, that nobody can guarantee that what people read is correct and relevant, as well as not misleading and not outdated. Therefore, people are unable to learn utterly about other country’s customs remotely. For example, it is frequently shown on the Internet that Ukrainians wear their national clothes, however, it is not simple truth and only some Ukrainian citizens wear vyshyvanka on the holidays. On the other hand, not only do tourists observe and learn traditions while being in a particular country, but they also plunge in them. This leads to the fact that travellers dive into the original customs, food, music and arts. Moreover, they try all new aspects from the first hands and immerse into a genuine country’s atmosphere. When my family and I, for instance, were in Cyprus and lived among indigenous people we had known extremely more about food and everyday life of Cypriots due to soaking their vision inside. In conclusion, while some people can consider travelling excessive for understanding other cultures I am firmly convinced that only inside the country and living among local habitants a curios tourist can absorb all colours of foreign traditions.