Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people' salaries to pay for public services such as roads and schools. Other thinks high taxes are bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been a never-ending debate about whether or not tax is a necessary part. Although many people find it is compelling to set out a large amount of their hard-earning cash for the government, some still argue that the authorities should raise money from other activities instead. In the following essay, I shall analyse both sides of the argument and give my point of view. On one hand, individual income tax is crucial to ensure the well-being of the community as a whole because it is used to invest in maintaining public services and improving the infrastructures and facilities. For example: in Vietnam’s battle against COVID-19, the state budget, sourcing from people’s earnings has allowed people to be quarantined and treated free of charge while the medical bills even in developed countries put a big strain on the already suffering patients. Moreover, tax levy on individuals is considered a tool to regulate the economy and carry out other policies. If the government wants to promote the development of a certain sector, tax reduction for workers in that field can be introduced so as to build better commitment and attract a new workforce. Another example is how imposing tax on the rich can encourage the wealth redistribution to poorer members in the society to avoid extreme inequality. On the other hand, taking a portion of people’s income has been met with opposition for some reasons. Firstly, because the more a person earns, the more tax he has to pay, some view taxing as a sort of unfair punishment, especially if they are wealthy. Additionally, objection to personal income tax has been linked to how it is an extra layer of burden to taxpayers in developing countries with low per capita income of under $4000. However, I believe these are misconceptions since if done with proper administration, accounting for affecting factors, different tax rates for different subjects can be imposed without compromising too much of individuals’ benefit. Tax levy exists to serve the overall economic growth, society’s well-being, and solving nation-level crises. In conclusion, putting a levy on people’s salaries is a need, but it has to be done in moderation in order to make the best use to benefit all parts of the population.