As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Since the majority of adults spend a considerable amount of their time at work, job satisfaction has become instrumental in the well-being of an individual. This essay will first discuss what elements contribute to job satisfaction, and it will then address the question how likely it is that everyone will be happy with their jobs. The two most important things that lead to someone being satisfied at work are being treated with respect by managers and being compensated fairly. If those who are senior to individual respect them as a person and value their contribution at work then this will elate the person and make them feel valuable. Fair compensation is also an important consideration because feeling underpaid can cause people to resent their bosses or look for another job. According to a recent survey by online job search website Monster.com, these two factors came on top where almost 80% agree that they would stick to their respective job roles if valued by managers and offered fair remuneration. With regards to the second question, it is unlikely that all workers can experience content with their career. The majority of people fail to reach their goal and as a result,end up taking a post they really do not care about in return for a salary. The money earned is just enough to pay their living expenses which often means they go through periods of discontentment. For example, a poll conducted by the Guardian.com states that 70% of the people would leave their current job if it were not for the money. To conclude, being content with one’s career can have a profound impact on a person's well-being, and being paid fairly can maximise their sense of self-worth; however, job satisfaction for all workers is an unrealistic hope.