Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

t is becoming increasingly common for schools around the world to emphasise STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) to the detriment of the humanities. This is a logically motivated decision and is negative overall. The main reason for this shift is a realisation of the value of jobs in scientific fields. New inventions and medicines push forward human progress and generate billions of dollars in revenue across a wide spectrum of industries. It therefore follows there are high-paying jobs available in private and public sectors for engineers, researchers, scientists, and mathematicians. At the very least, someone who majors in a STEM related subject will be able to find a quality teaching position. This guarantees of a minimum level of success and the possibility of a much greater career motivates parents, institutions and students themselves to prioritise and pursue scientific careers. This over-emphasis on science will translate to less art in the world. It is true that from a strictly utilitarian point of view, resources ought to be allocated to fields with the most economic value. Life is, however, more than the sum of everyone’s earning potential. If the proportion of humanities majors falls, there will be fewer painters, sculptors, filmmakers, writers, and musicians. Science may create modern conveniences but the arts are more important for a fulfilling and enjoyable life. The results of this decline might not become apparent for generations, but if funding is slashed for arts programs, the world will become culturally poorer and the art that has enriched and elevated humanity will give way to a tranquil, technocratic future. In conclusion, the jobs available to science majors explain their dominance but taken as a whole this trend will result in a world bereft of great artists. It is therefore important to balance funding to a defensible degree.