The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, advertising of all kinds has increasingly become one of the most familiar marketing tools. While some people believe in its value, others still argue against the popularity of advertisement. In my opinion, despite certain drawbacks, the complete prohibition of advertising is actually unreasonable. On the one hand, there are a couple of negativities involved in the development of advertising. The first problem is about the low reliability of advertisements. Because the competition between businesses in the same field is getting more and more fierce and severe these days, entrepreneurs are prone to deliver distorted and exaggerated information about their products. Secondly, the presence of advertisement sometimes turns out to be annoying to viewers. For example, some forms of advertising, such as TV commercials or pop-ups, may unexpectedly interrupt while people enjoy their favourite programmes. On the other hand, advertisements should not be absolutely banned for several reasons. To commence with, the more strongly advertising develops, the more prosperous the economy will become. Thanks to different kinds of advertisements, products and goods can effectively reach prospective consumers. As a consequence, the market of businesses is likely to be expanded and the domestic production will also be increased. Besides, customers can gather useful information about products they wish to buy from a wide range of advertisements. They allow customers to carefully consider and compare brands before their purchase. This is how they can make the wisest buying decision and do their shopping efficiently. In conclusion, I am deeply convinced that advertising does more good than harm indeed. Although a few forms of advertisement may appear to be unreliable and annoying, advertising really plays a crucial role in boosting the national economy along with facilitating modern shopping process.