More money should be spent on hiring and training the police force in order to reduce crime in big cities. What is your opinion?

We live in an era where crime seems to be on the increase gloomily. Reducing criminal activities is a widely discussed topic among authorities, especially during election time. Although many argue that an increase in the police force will regulate the offences to a greater extent, I believe that this is not only the solution to fix this as its roots are so varied and intricate. This essay will illustrate why the proposed solution is not effective. On the one hand, I do think this would resolve to a certain extent. Clearly, prevention is always a preferred method in any situation. This means a higher number of officers on the street could discourage criminals from breaking the law. Additionally, using more technology by police would help them a foreseeable criminal activity to better equip themselves. For example, top range technology allowed the stoppage of the terrorist attack in Australia. Thus, it is undeniable that spending more on trained officers would help to a certain extent. On the other hand, it is essential to treat the root cause of any problem. The major reason for involving most of the youth in illegal acts is poverty. Unless we address this root cause, we will never be able to fix the actual problem completely. Instead of investing in creating more employment and ensuring the government schemes reaching the public, spending more on trained force cannot yield better results. A good example of this is the USA, where millions are invested in creating new prisons, but nothing has been done regarding gun possessions. This is one of the countries with the highest number of mass shootings, which kills and injures hundreds each year. To conclude, not only hiring more police would help mitigate the issue, but also, providing better welfare for citizens around the world, which in my opinion would help more to avert illegal activity.