Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

Art is a prominent part of school year activities. It is well known that indulging students in different art forms, makes them learn a new skill. Making art subjects compulsory for school students has its pros and cons but I feel pupils should have the option to choose the activities they like. School years are the times when children get exposed to different forms of art activities as extra-curricular activities, it may be singing, dancing, playing an instrument, painting and much more. Involving students in these activities ensures that their creative thinking is utilized as well as they learn to explore fresh skills. They also learn the importance of patience and practice which is required to master any art -form. For instance, a recent study by Cornell found that students who were good in science, as well as an art -form, had a more all-rounded personality than compared to students without an art hobby. Therefore, it is crucial to ensure children are exposed to different art -forms during school years. However, school time can be a bit of challenge as well for many children. Students need to juggle academics, sports as well as any hobby they would have opted for. There are students who are highly inclined towards a specific stream of science and may love it as a hobby as well or they may be a part of the school sports team and are trying to utilize their time effectively between academics and sports. For instance, playing basketball on a state level requires uncounted hours of practice at the court. Hence, students need to be given the option to choose according to what they are interested in. To summarize, even though indulging in some form of art, enhances the student's creativity and performance in a broader perspective, making art mandatory will ultimately overburden them who may be more involved in sports or other activities. Therefore, in my opinion, it is better to keep art as an optional subject in schools.