Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays companies have various dress codes. Some companies believe that their staff should dress formally, while other companies think that work performance is much more important than appearance. This essay will discuss why a dress code has its own benefits but why companies should focus more on the quality of work. In my opinion, how the staff perform is superior. A growing number of companies believe that it is necessary for their employees to wear formally because they can make a good impression on their clients and express a more professional image. For example, people working in client-facing companies or service industry tend to follow a dress code like wearing formal clothes or even uniform to show off their profession. As a result, many companies are in favour of staff dressing smartly. In contrast to companies that wish to let their employees wear formally, there are also some companies concentrating more on employees' work performance. As they believe that it is the quality of work that makes their clients choose and trust them. If their staff just look professional but are not able to handle these tough work tasks, it can be fatal for the company. For instance, a recent survey reveals that sometimes staff are more likely to have more brilliant ideas and be more engaged and motivated in a more comfortable workplace. Therefore, there are still some companies that think the quality of work is superior. In conclusion, companies have different views on whether their staff need to wear smartly. Some companies require their employees to dress smartly in the workplace, while others concentrate more on their employees' work performance. This essay discussed why dressing formally could help companies to make their employees look more professional but why some companies value work performance above appearance. In my view, work performance is a superior factor for a company to value its staff.