Some people think it is important to keep and maintain old buildings rather than replacing them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Protecting an old building with history is very essential, according to a few people, compared to the reconstruction of the entire structure. Personally, I completely agree with this, as the importance of any old construction is forever carried in its past, and to re-model the whole place would cost a fortune. There is a history and an emotion carried in every building standing tall from the past and preserving them by proper maintenance is necessary as these places are still quite stable, being made of the quality of materials. Consequently, there are many, who has an emotional connection with it and carry a strong opinion to protect it from destruction. There are many such constructions in India; for example, Taj Mahal, Charminar and others, repaired and maintained frequently as it holds a great value in every citizen's heart. Hence, these structures need to keep safe as they are immensely important and they cherish its past and value its presence. Similarly, demolishing an old building to replace it with a modern one will be way expensive compared to repairing the same one and maintaining it from time-to-time. By frequent repairs, there would be no noticeable damages and can substantially sustain strong for a very long period. For instance, using those finances efficiently for a better purpose such as to build more schools and hospitals would help the poor more adequately. Therefore, spending a fortune in replacing these old buildings is not appreciated by many. To conclude, it is definitely necessary to preserve and protect the old builds than to re-do them from the scratch with modern designs, not only as the history and importance of it is particularly personal to the people but also the amount of credit spent on repairing is far less than re-modeling it entirely.