Many schools these days have problems with poor student behaviour. Why do you think these problems occur? What could be done to tackle these problems?

Teachers around the world often cite the students' misbehaviour as the reason for leaving their jobs. Many educators seek to answer the question of why children behave in such a manner, and how to cope with the issue. This essay will outline several possible causes and suggest the prospective solutions. One of the reasons why pupils' inappropriate behaviour could develop at school is the fact that they do not have a supportive environment at home. In order to compensate for the lack of parents’ attention, they may provoke fights or arguments at school. If parents spent more quality time with their children and listened to them, the children would feel more comfortable at school and would not cause troubles. Furthermore, I believe, it is parents, but not only teachers, who should make children understand the impact of their behaviour on others. The second cause of worsening student conduct is a poor school management. It is often the case that school authorities concentrate on exam results and other performance indicators, and neglect the individuals behind this. As a result, pupils may rebel against the system. To prevent the unpleasant consequences, school boards should change their formal approach to a more personalised one. Additionally, school policies should include clear rules, sanctions and rewards, so that every student can understand what is expected from them. To sum up, misbehaviour is a global problem and it cannot be solved by schools alone. Parents should also take responsibility to create more favourable conditions for pupils' learning, development and well-being.